A 1920s Bias Slip…..

This is the 1920s slip pattern that the costume lecturer, Hilary, brought in for me to look at. I just love it, the packaging, the illustrations and wondering who first owned it and what fabric they made it from. Even the pattern pieces themselves are lovely, there are no instructions or lines just little perforated holes:

I toiled it out of polyester lining fabric and it hangs really nicely, Tracey has said it would be ok for me to use this pattern as it’s just a slip to go underneath the actual dress. It was a tiny bit too big on the size 12 stand but I don’t want to adjust the pattern as there is a lot more bias-stretch in the silk ponge, so I think it will be better to make it and then take it in if necessary.

The photoshoot for this project has to be done for the 27th of May as well as the garments etc. It doesn’t have to be all the garments but at least some of them to show that I’ve planned it so that the lecturers have something to grade me on. I already have a good idea of how I want the images to look, and so we just keep stopping and taking photos to try and find the right location:

I like this shot a lot but it’s too manmade for the wild natural feel that I want.

Blouse: Topshop

Trousers Miss Selfridge

Brogues: Topshop

Ideally I need to find a location near Shrewsbury for my womenswear shoot and somewhere around Stafford for the childrenswear. Everywhere outside it so beautiful at the moment it shouldn’t be too difficult to find the perfect place, but for now the hunt continues!

Leave a Reply

