3 Weeks to Go….

3 weeks tomorrow is my deadline….EEEEEEEK!!!

I’ve actually had a really productive and successful few days. I’ve all but finished the pintuck and pleated dress, just need to finish the armholes and neckline. I still need to make the bias cut lining for this too, I was speaking to the costume lecturer at uni today though and she is going to bring me a 1920s bias cut slip pattern in tomorrow for me to have a look at. I’ve also started the mammoth task of putting fray stop on the raw edges of the ruffle dress, I decided it was best to do a bit at a time rather than leaving it all till the end. It’s quite nice to have something to do in the evening that doesn’t require too much brain function anyway!!  I’ll take some pictures tomorrow so you can actually see what I’m talking about.

I’ve also got the children’s designs graded and toiled to the correct size so as soon as I’ve done a fitting with the models, I can get cut out and making in the real fabrics.

Stopped on the way home to take an outfit photograph, I love how much colour there is in spring. I instantly regretted wearing this skirt as soon as I walked out the door this morning. I say walk, what I mean is shuffled. I do really like this skirt but the tube shape of it means that you can only take tiny little steps, I have to remember not to try and cross the road in a hurry!!!

Maxi Tube Skirt: Topshop

Vest: Topshop

Cardigan: Topshop

Boots: Topshop

Oh and I’m also making good progress for my Start Up Planning and Promotion Module: I’ve just ordered my business cards and have started building my website. I’ve bought the domain and email address, which meant I could put these details on my business cards and actually use them for my exhibition. I’ll post a link once there’s a bit more to look at, I’ve been writing the “About” page this evening; it’s surprising how hard it is to write a few paragraphs to sum up exactly how you want your business to be perceived. First impressions really do count for a lot, it may only be hypothetical but it’s really important to me for it to look professional.

Leave a Reply

