My 1930s Tea Dress….

I don’t think I’ve featured this dress before, which is surprising as it’s one of my favourites. It’s a 1930s silk tea gown, it was my first proper vintage buy from a shop called Tea Gowns and Textiles in Leominster. I love the coral coloured silk and the hand embroidery on the collar is exquisite. I had my second tutorial with Lindsay today for Start-Up Planning and Promotion; I discussed my business idea with her and we agreed that over the next week I need to identify if there are companies producing anything similar and also boutiques through which I could sell my product. I need to write a questionnaire that I could take to these companies to help me understand what they are looking for when they choose their products. I also need to come up with a rough idea for a range plan, Lindsay suggested 12 pieces e.g 2 dresses, 3 tops etc.  There’s lots of research and thinking to do, I’m really enjoying it though. I don’t want to see this as a brief for uni, I actually want to treat it as a  live project so that I could actually take the business plan and put it into action straight away. The sooner I get the research and everything for this done the better, there are a couple of boutiques nearby that I want to take the questionnaire to before the next tutorial so writing that is one of my priorities.

I wanted to get a better picture of my new brogues up too, I picked these little beauties up in the Topshop sale on Friday.

Dress: 1930s vintage from Tea Gowns and Textiles

Cardigan: Topshop

Tights: Falke

Brogues: Topshop

Leave a Reply

