Not far to go….

No outfit post today, the theme is basically as many layers as possible: this has resulted in restricted movement! Dave did take my photograph but on his medium format camera so will have to wait until the film is developed.

Only a couple of weeks left before all my modules have to be submitted, things are going well. Now that the dresses are finished for the Clothes Show, I’ve had a chance to go back to the paperwork side of things. I’ve spent a lot of time recently working on my portfolio: mounting illustrations and things for the Clothes Show brief and reworking things from my first year.

 I have also done first drafts of both reports for Clothing in Culture and Context: the first is a report on the effect of World War II on women’s dress, the Utility scheme and also looks at whether the recession has seen us return to the “Make do and Mend” mentality of the War. The second report is a case study on Christian Dior and his New Look collection. I ventured out in the snow briefly today to show the drafts to Gloria, she read and was happy with the first report, although I still need to reference it properly; Gloria told me that even if I haven’t used a direct quote I need to reference any ideas as you can’t put anything in your bibliography that isn’t mentioned in the main text. I’m going to find her tomorrow once she has read my Dior report to see what she thinks of that one. The second report is to be an illustrated case study, I have already illustrated to of Dior’s New Look designs but I think I want about 6 or so to go onto presentation boards. I haven’t really done any RLJ entries for this module as we are only marked on the two reports, however I was reading the module handbook last night and it does say that although you do not have to it is recommended that you keep a journal and submit it with your work. Although I haven’t done specific entries on my blog, I have pages and pages of notes from my research and ideas that I’ve had so think I should be ok; I may just have to make some notes from my notes!

Gloria gave a presentation on Fashion and Film this morning, I found this really interesting. Although I don’t have a great deal of interest in the costume industry, the presentation was more focussed on the effect early films had on trends etc. It’s an issue I’d like to read into further once I have some spare time…although who knows when that will be! She talked about Chanel briefly; she was paid $1 million to design costumes for Hollywood, however the relationship didn’t last long: Hollywood’s tradition was for the clothes to complement the narrative, character and actresses, Chanel’s attitude was “in a subtle way to prioritise the clothes over the narrative” (Bruzzi, 2004).

I feel I’m well on track with my Personal Planning module too; the submissions for this module are my portfolio (showing how I’ve planned what to put in it and what I’ve done to get previous works up to scratch), I’m not far off with this I still have a few pages I want to add in and I think I want to write a short report of what works I have chosen, why I’ve chosen them and what they looked like before and after. I also have to submit a research folder, showing how I have researched my options for the future e.g top-up years, graduate schemes, job roles etc. This folder is to also contain my UCAS application, personal statement and CV. Again, I have a little bit left to do here, just tying up loose ends really: I want to edit my personal statement a bit as it was very design orientated and I have ended up choosing a business top-up. I also just need to do a bit of annotation here and there.

I feel confident it will all be done on time but I’m still a bit stressed out! I think it’s probably just the way I am, I worry about everything!! I’m pleased with what I have so far but I think there is always room for improvement.

Leave a Reply

