And So It Starts….

A quick warning, this post may go on a while so you may want to make a cup of tea!

Let’s start with a little outfit post, this is what I wore to work yesterday. The skirt has been a bit of a staple of late, it seems to go with everything and you don’t have to iron it which is always a bonus.

 

Jersey Blouse: Topshop

Pleather Skirt: H&M

Boots: H&M

Today was the start of my final semester at university. Unfortunately I didn’t get to go in because I got stopped by the police driving home from work last night. It’s not as bad as it sounds; they stopped me to tell me I had a brake light out and then after checking the rest of the car told me that two of my tyres were illegal. So I can’t drive it until the garage change the tyres for me on Thursday which is a bit of a pain but at least it will be all sorted. As I wrote my project proposal last semester I’ve just spent the day working anyway.

In a couple of my most recent posts, I had said that I was aiming to do more outfit posts. I’ve basically failed at that and to be honest I can’t see it becoming a daily thing for quite some time. It’s difficult at the moment; I’m at uni, I work two days a week and have more family responsibilities than I used to. Plus Dave is a student teacher; teaching 5 days a week and studying all hours around that, we barely see each other at the moment without trying to take outfit photos. I’m sad but my studies have to take priority, I’ll try and fit in the odd outfit post here and there but I’m going back to focusing my blog on my experience as a fashion student. I have a lot of respect to all you bloggers out there, I love doing it but at the moment I just have so much on my plate.

Anyway, as I said today was the start of my last semester. When I wrote my proposal I had the option of writing a dissertation or a live project. I’m carrying out a live project; designing and manufacturing a childrenswear print collection, there are a lot of other aspects that are included and I have a huge amount of work to fit into 12 weeks! Although I’m fully aware of how much work there is to do, I feel quite positive at the moment; I’ve set out a week by week plan so I can just get straight into it. I’ve bought a day-a-page diary so that I can keep record of my time; it’s recommended we spend 400 hours working on this module which I’ve worked out to be 33 hours a week. There will be another module, which I think will be about 11 hours a week and so I’m hoping that keeping a diary will enable me to manage my time more effectively. Basically fitting everything in is going to be really tough, but if I start as I mean to go on it should make things easier.

The shape is to be inspired by 1920s-30s and the print taking inspiration from hares and lace. I’ve already been back in the print room working on my first repeat print:

It’s an appalling picture I know, but it gives you an idea. It was designed as a practice but I really love it and think that it would make a really beautiful border on a dress. Matching the print up was actually much easier than I’d anticipated but I only had four hares on the screen and so ideally I would use a larger screen so that I could print more in one go; in the long rung it would be more time effective and therefore more cost effective.

Spending time on the design element is really key to me; I’m aiming to study post graduate pattern cutting at London College of Fashion and so I need my design portfolio to be as strong as possible. I’m booked to go to the post graduate open day on February 4th, really looking forward to having a proper look around and having a proper chat with the course leader.

I have a million other things that I could write about but I’ll save some for tomorrow!

One response to “And So It Starts….

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

